What is math?  Math to me is using logical and analytical thinking to derive solutions to the problems we see from all directions.  In almost all of my math classes I have been asked this exact question.  In each one I hear a wide variety of answers from each student.  Math is used every day.  Whether you are solving a mathematical equation or just figuring out how long you need before leaving for your next class. Every time I am asked to answer this question I try my hardest to remember my previous answer since it is such a difficult question, and yet I never can.  I think the reason behind that is because there is no “right” answer to this question.

I myself have learned math in the steps of any other person in my shoes:

  • Numbers and Counting
  • Addition/subtraction
  • Multiplication/division
  • Algebra
  • Geometry/Trigonometry
  • Calculous
  • Euclidean Geometry
  • Etc.

The reason I bring up my history of math is simply because I feel as though the milestones of math throughout history were brought up in the same manner.  The only thing I might switch around is Euclidean Geometry because that was brought up whenever Euclid had discovered it.

