Before writing this blog post, I looked around to find a good article that portrayed my thoughts on the relationship between math and physics.  I think I found one that supports my ideas.

In this blog post, I will be going into depth about an article that I found by Benjamin Plybon called “The Relation between Mathematics and Physics.”  After reading the article, I made connections, found disagreements, and learned many new things.

The first thing that really caught my attention in the article was when the author began to describe where the differences in the two subjects take place.  He argues that physics and mathematics build off of one another and you can’t have one without the other.  Mathematics is used as a symbolic language to express physical problems. The disconnect happens when we start thinking about the way we think.  Physicists think like physicists.  Mathematicians think like mathematicians.

In mathematics, everything must be rigorously defined, examined, explained, and proved in a logical order.  Because of this, many students can become increasingly frustrated and timid when discussing mathematical concepts with a physicists mindset around people who have a mathematical mindset.

To go into more depth on this topic, I have made a connection to my personal life.  My major is Mathematics and Educations with an Elementary Certification minor.  With that being said I have taken quite a few education courses at this point in my education.  In many of my classes we have had in depth group discussions about how important it is to have an open environment where no one is scared to answer a question “wrong.”  This is simply because any answer that someone may think is wrong is really just a great opportunity for more discussion that can lead the class to a more complex and clearer understanding of the mathematical concept.

In the article, Bejamin mentions that students who think like physicists may become scared to answer a question wrong in a math class because of any surrounding math thinkers who typically thrive on finding and fixing mistakes.  This is not a good thing.  I think that we need to understand this issue an

